A New Beginning!

Hello!

My name is Chelsea and I thank you for sharing the experience of this new journey with me. I am looking very forward to getting to know each and every one of you!

Let me tell you a little about myself first. I have never had just one dream or passion to follow in life. When I was growing up I would bounce from one future to another. At one point I was destined to be a detective, taking notes of everything I saw and trying to solve made up mysteries. Another time I wanted nothing more than be a lawyer (this was more or less due to my love for watching Legally Blonde). Then there were many shorter lived aspirations; designing my own fashion line, becoming a world renown chef, a career in architecture, being a teacher, a video game designer, a doctor, and a singer..that is until I realized just how terrible of a singing voice I really had. And of course, a movie star, telling everyone that as soon as I graduated high school I would be off to Hollywood.

Some dreams that I had growing up went to the back burner to ones such as movie stardom and fashion designer. As I got older I realized that these were not only more practical but actually suited my talents and inner desires better than anything.

For as long as I can remember I have loved baking. When I was little I used to spend a weekend here and there at my grandmother’s house. She’s that grandma with the cookies that everyone raves over. She used to let me help her and taught me the ins and outs of cookie baking. I will never forget the day that she taught me not to touch the stove while you are baking..that was a “learn from your mistakes” type of day. I took everything I learned from my grandma and now I have a deep hearty love for baking. I love finding and trying new recipes, testing and tweaking them to better suit what I like. Anything that I can make on my own in my home rather than buy at the store, I do. Over the past seven years I have tossed around the idea of opening my own bakery. Though I don’t plan on actually starting on this escapade for another ten years or so, I still have a pocketful of information and ideas just waiting to be let out.

Around the age of eleven I thought that I had an extremely original mind. I just knew that I could be an acclaimed author. Ahh the mind of an eleven year old. I got out my favorite notebook and started writing my first novel. It was about an awkward young girl who found a puppy in her backyard. They quickly bonded and she knew that no matter what happened in life that her best friend would always love her. It had a decent start, almost no context in the middle, and an ending that was never technically finished unless you went to the notes page at the end and saw that the dog had died. Throughout the years I have tossed around MANY ideas for other books. They ranged from fantasy to romance to mystery to thriller. Until about a year ago I thought that this would always be something that stayed in the protective chamber of my mind. If it stayed there then I wouldn’t have to hear anyone say that I wasn’t good enough to do it. I decided that if it was something I truly wanted to do, then I would just put on my big girl shoes and go for it. If I didn’t try, then clearly it wasn’t important enough to me after all. So, I did it. I took the plunge. I’m currently in the process of writing my first, and hopefully it goes well and it’s not my last, novel. Wish me luck!!

My next calling was discovered one day while I was scrolling through Pinterest. Who doesn’t love Pinterest!? I saw these adorable baby booties, they were crocheted and, as I had never even known what crochet was, I just put them in the back of my mind. Then I saw that one of my friends knew how to crochet, so I had asked her if it was a difficult thing to do and she told me that once you got a hang of it, it was pretty easy. So I gave it a go. I went to a super store, found the yarn aisle, and looked at the wall of crochet hooks and knitting needles and all of the other accessories. It was like looking at a big picture with hieroglyphics, I had no idea what to do. So, naturally, when confronted with a confusing task, I winged it. I grabbed a pink crochet hook (because, yes, it was pink) and some pretty pink yarn and checked out. Lucky for me that the hook size I had gotten was only half a size away from the recommended hook size for that yarn. Not that I even knew that at the time but that’s neither here nor there. I jumped onto YouTube and watched just about every beginner video that I could find. At first it was so irritating and I just couldn’t get a handle on how to work the hook. UGH! With an amazing amount of support from my Man, I kept at it. Three years later and my house is half yarn. A while ago I started selling some of my work and now I’m venturing out and opening an Etsy shop.

Knitting is still new for me. I haven’t quite gotten the hang of it yet, but now I know that all it takes is a little time and attention and I’ll catch on.

I also plan to start sewing. I learned how to sew in my high school home economics class. Haven’t done it since. I am so ready to start re-learning how to sew, because I’m sure I’ve forgotten how to do it. I need to make myself an adorable new apron! I already have a couple ides for that too. Now all that I need is a sewing machine!

As for the last part, Geek. When I was growing up, people used the word geek to put others down. Because of all of the movies and TV shows and such that have become so popular, being a geek has seemed to become quite orthodox. Whether you are a bandwagon geek or you’ve been a geek since childhood, welcome. I hope I don’t ever embarrass myself by getting a little carried away, but I will warn you now..it may happen. I just want you all to be prepared, just in case.

Now that I’ve gotten all of that out of the way, I would like to tell you what you could be seeing in my future posts and such. I hope to write about my love for baking with recipes both failed and successful. I plan to start a series about recipes that I find on Pinterest. I will try out the recipes and post results with descriptions of what I did accompanied by pictures. If it was a major fail, I will talk about what may have gone wrong and much to my probable dismay, I will post my fail pictures as well.

I will also post about all things crochet and knit. Projects that I have done, want to do, patterns, and any information that seems like it should be shared. I would also love to help anyone who wishes to learn how to crochet or knit. I will answer any questions and if there are any requested posts I will gladly address anything that I can!

There may also be random posts about the things that I love. Hopefully you all enjoy those posts as much as the more informative ones. This might be where my “geekery” could come into factor.

I am so very excited to embark on this new adventure and I hope that I can make many new friends in all of you.

~CJ

Leave a Reply

