Fingerless Owl Gloves

   

These are super easy! Crochet a square, for this child size that I made I made a half double crochet foundation of 22. Then I made 15 rows. Stitch them along the side leaving a hole about one inch in length and about 1 to 1 1/4 inch from the top. Ta-da!

I can’t remember where I had found the owl motif, I had it jotted down in a notepad because I tweaked the original pattern a tad. This is what I have:

At the end or each round I did a sl st and fastened off. This is because I wanted a different color for each round. If you don’t wish to change your colors, then just continue on.

Magic Ring

Round 1: Ch 2, hdc 11. Sl st to join. 

Round 2: Ch 2, hdc in same st, 2 hdc in the space between each previous hdc. (You don’t HAVE to do them in between, but I did it both ways and I prefer the look of in between rather than in the actual stitches) Sl st to join.

Round 3: Ch 2, 2 hdc in same st, hdc 3 in between each previous group of 2 hdc. Sl st to join. 

Round 4: (now working in the stitches) Ch 2, 2 hdc in next st, hdc in next 3, 2 hdc in next st, sc in each remaining st, sl st to join.

Round 5: Ch 2, 2 hdc in next st, hdc in next st, sl st in next 2 st, hdc in next st, 2 hdc in next st, sl st in next st. Fasten off and weave in ends.

The eyes are just a magic ring, ch 2, hdc 7, sl st to join. Four times altogether. I sewed little buttons into the center of the eyes but if you don’t want buttons you could crochet little black circles or glue felt onto them or even glue little googly eyes on them. Whatever tickles your fancy!

The nose is just orange yarn sewn in between the eyes. Sew the owl on the correct mitts. Double check before sewing to make sure that you are putting the Owls are the correct sides of the mitts. You DO NOT want to sew the whole thing onto a glove just to realize you made two left hands. Tragic!

 

I do plan to make more of these but I want to make them with all different kinds of creatures and objects on them so it may take a bit to finish. The next ones I make I will have progressional pictures so it will be very visual, so stay tuned!!

Thanks!

~ CJ

Leave a Reply

